South Wales Fire and Rescue Authority

Since April 1996, South Wales Fire and Rescue Authority has been responsible for providing the Fire and Rescue Service for the geographical area of South Wales. The Fire and Rescue Authority consists of 24 members representing 10 of the Unitary Authorities of South Wales.  


The number of Councillor Representatives for each Unitary Authority depends on the size of electoral representatives and political proportionality.

At the Annual General Meeting (AGM) members elect the Chair and Vice Chair of the Fire and Rescue Authority, the Chairs and Vice Chairs of Committees, and appoint members who will represent each Committee.

The Executive Leadership Team (ELT), comprising of the Chief Fire Officer, Corporate Directors and Treasurer, is responsible for Strategic Leadership, Political Interface and Corporate Challenge. The Senior Management Team (SMT) includes the same Officers and Heads of Service, both uniformed and corporate, and provides Organisational Leadership, Functional Challenge and Service Delivery.

The core functions of the Fire and Rescue Authority are set out in the Fire and Rescue Services Act 2004.

Minutes and Agendas

The Fire and Rescue Authority meet several times a year and you are able to see the reports and decisions made at each committee through the following link.

South Wales Fire and Rescue Service have an exemption under Standard 38 of the Welsh Language Standards that allows Fire Authority Papers to be presented in English only.

If you require any documents prior to those published please contact us.


Annual General Meeting