Pontypridd Fire Station

Pontypridd Fire Station 

Pontypridd Fire Station serves the main town of Pontypridd and 18 smaller surrounding villages including Church Village, Ynysybwl and Rhydfelin.  The estimated population of the Station area is 65,568.

Pontypridd Fire Station serves a wide range of industrial, business and residential areas, including the large Treforest Industrial Estate and the University of South Wales, which caters for over 18,000 students, 1,000 of whom live on campus. There are also several major retail areas on the outskirts of the town.

Community Initiatives

  • Road Traffic Reduction Presentations which can be held at Station or local colleges/community workshops/youth centres We aim to educate and bring forward the dangers of driving to young drivers and the issues relating to accidents and how we can prevent them from occurring (i.e.) seat belts/speeding/drink and drug driving/using mobile phones whilst driving and inexperience
  • We offer and carry out Home Fire Safety Checks and install free smoke alarms where required (call 0800 169 1234) or visit our Station
  • We visit our local Schools to educate younger children in the dangers of fire, and older children on the dangers of hazards in the house and kitchen areas
  • We carry out local arson vulnerability assessments and work with local services to remove litter and other potential hazards (i.e. discarded gas bottles)
  • We work with the police and the borough council to reduce the higher number of deliberate car fires in and around the Pontypridd area
  • Continue to visit factories and industrial sites on a regular basis to maintain local risk knowledge
  • We carry out 30 off station training exercises to make sure fire-fighters remain in a high state of readiness
  • We aim to increase the number of retained duty system fire fighters and would welcome, in particluar, applications from females and under represented ethnic groups


49 uniformed staff comprising of 40 Wholetime Firefighters working in 4 Watches (Red, Green, Blue, White) and 13 Retained Firefighters. A Station Manager is in overall charge.

Rank Structures

  • Crew manager
  • Watch manager
  • Station manager


The Station was officially opened by County Alderman W.H Lee the chairman of the County Council on the 10th July 1965. The Station also acted as one of the Divisional HQs of Glamorgan County Fire Service.

Station Address

Oxford Street
CF37 1RU

Station Overview

Type: Wholetime/Retained
Personnel: 49
2 x Water Ladder
Water Ladder

1 x Rescue Tender
Rescue Tender

1 x Light Pump Unit 4x4
Light Pump Unit 4x4

1 x Water Bowser
Water Bowser

Page Last Updated on 20/7/2017